Record №11: Something ends, something begins …

Частокол на БД-1 (северный)
This record can be called last in relation to the field season in 2016 Gnezdovo. Of course, we are still waiting for work on the monument in the autumn -. Monitoring, intelligence, etc., but that’s another story. In the near future I happen to change the traditional geographical area of archaeological work in the central part of Russia in the North Caucasian region, namely, Kabardino-Balkaria and the neighborhood of the city of Nalchik. Details of this trip, I will write or have to return in the process.
Now Gnezdovo. Already I wrote that found in the excavation DB-1 (north) this year – in the continuation of DB-2 findings (San Tolich not be angry at me, I corrected) – luxurious wooden structures and, in particular, the well-preserved stockade at the earliest, I will not say what, settlement layers (who are interested, read the earlier post). The stockade was made of wood of different breeds. Here and birch and stained oak (preserved even bark), but most probably represented by conifers. All columns were sharpened and deepened by half a meter into the mainland. Needless to say that for our sand-dry Gnezdovo this finding is fantastic ”
In general, as a result I was able to take 22 samples dendrospily. Another sample was taken from the excavation “closure channel” – research bridges between Lake. Bezdonka and p. Lead (details in earlier records). We will have a chronological scale! Hooray!
Why am I all. For those who could not see live, but really wants to understand how it was – a special 3D-model of this stockade. See here. Thanks, Veronica Vladislavovna Murasheva and Alexey Shevtsov, who allowed her to place on public display / admiration!

Запись №11: Что-то кончается, что-то начинается…

Частокол на БД-1 (северный)Это запись можно назвать последний в отношении полевого сезона 2016 г. в Гнёздове. Конечно, нас еще ждут работы на памятнике осенью — мониторинги, разведки и пр., но это уже совсем другая история. В ближайшее время мне доведется сменить традиционную географическую зону археологических работ в центральной части России на северо-кавказский регион, а именно Кабардино-Балкарию и окрестности г. Нальчик. Подробности этой поездки я напишу уже по возвращению или в процессе.
Теперь о Гнёздово. Уже писал, что на раскопе БД-1 (северный) в этом году нашли — в продолжении находок БД-2 (Сан Толич не серчай на меня, я исправился) — роскошные деревянные конструкции и, в частности, хорошо сохранившийся частокол в самых ранних, никому не скажу каких, слоях поселения (кому интересно, читайте более ранние записи). Частокол состоял из дерева разных пород. Тут и береза, и мореный дуб (сохранилась даже кора), но большая часть, вероятно, представлена хвойными породами. Все столбы были заточены и на полметра углублены в материк. Не стоит и говорить, что для нашего песчано-сухого Гнёздово эта находка просто фантастика»
Вообще в результате удалось взять на дендроспилы 22 образца. Еще один образец взяли из раскопок «прорана» — исследования перемычки между оз. Бездонка и р. Свинец (подробности в более ранних записях). У нас будет своя хронологическая шкала! Ура!
К чему я это все. Для тех, кто не смог увидеть в живую, но очень хочет понять, как это было — специальная 3D-модель этого самого частокола. Смотреть тут. Спасибо, Веронике Владиславовне Мурашевой и Алексею Шевцову, которые, позволили ее разместить на всеобщее обозрение/восхищение!